Archive for December 22nd, 2010

December 22, 2010

Honoring our history with a museum

by Eric Cortes

In the past few weeks two important historical attractions opened in Philadelphia. The National Museum of American Jewish History and the President’s House commemorative site both geared towards honoring their respective ancestry, Jewish and African slaves, are both wonderful ideas. Opening a museum takes years and years of planning but it also takes a lot of dedication and heart and there’s also drama involved. However, The U.S. must realize honoring our Latino history with a museum is as important as an American History museum.

read more »

December 22, 2010

Getting to know the BL team!

Staff Writer, Rosie G. says about getting involved with Being Latino, “I saw their ad on Facebook and applied! I immediately was told I was now a blogger. LOL!!”

read more »

December 22, 2010

Swedish/Argentine Christmas?

by Jennifer Turano

Latinos always ask me how I spend my Christmas, waiting to hear about Swedish holiday traditions. Swedes ask the same question, waiting for me to tell them about Argentine traditions. The boring truth is that I never really experienced either. Since we’re a mixed family, much of our traditions are mixed as well. We take our favorite dishes from both countries and just eat what we like—making up our own traditions as we go along. My amazing dad has grown very accustomed to Swedish traditions though, I must say. Although, in a very Argentine way, he often manages to go exaggerate them a bit.

read more »