Archive for December 20th, 2010

December 20, 2010

“…of color.”

by Keyla Cedano

For a long time now, as I understood it, the phrase “woman/men of color” was an identifier of African-Americans. Not only was it an emotionally charged phrase, but it was a literally descriptive one as well. A few days ago a Black woman stated that it angered her when Black men who dated interracially labeled Latinas and Asians as “women of color” to explain that they were not betraying their ethnic roots when romantically linked to these women. The comment didn’t bother me because the term “woman of color” meant nothing to me; I wasn’t offended if I was identified as such, but I also didn’t label myself one. To me, I was simply Latina; a different brand of Negrita.

read more »

December 20, 2010

Getting to know the BL team!

Staff writer, Keyla Cedano is a self-proclaimed,”pen pusher for BL.”

“When Lance first suggested the page I almost didn’t accept- but the title was catchy that I snooped around a bit. I evolved into an avid admirer of Being Latino and finally into a straight-up stalker; I was teased for being so “cut-throat” when debating and to be honest I sort of got a kick out of it. Then I remember a blog about “Bible Stompers”, and the response angered me enough to write my first blog- which, expectedly, caused mayhem among readers. I vowed never to write another blog; but then a few weeks after, Lance presented the opportunity on BL- by this time I was so engulfed in Lance’s mission statement that I didn’t resist. After some minor pinches I began to submit posts religiously and here I am today.”

read more »

December 20, 2010

Great, Controversial Guacamole in 303 Easy Steps

by Ulises Silva

You might not know this about guacamole, but 1) it’s not supposed to taste like cardboard, 2) it’s not supposed to be a spread, and 3) it’s not supposed to look like green silly putty. And if this is news to you, you’ve probably been eating the prepackaged guacamole you find at supermarkets nestled between French Onion Dip and Cheese-themed Mystery Goo. Seriously, your typical prepackaged guacamole would have you believe the Aztecs were actually trying to develop I Can’t Believe It’s Not Manteca.

read more »

December 20, 2010

Christmas is just for kids

by Nicolle Morales Kern

Christmas is just for kids. At least that’s the impression I get when talking to friends and other “adults” (and who wants to be that?). My man said that he doesn’t really get excited around Christmas and won’t really celebrate until he has children of his own. According to him it’s fun to prepare Christmas for them. If you read bloguero AJ Rodriguez’s account of his las Navidades timeline, you’ll also see a similar statement.

Now I don’t know about you, but this sentiment makes me sad. Even though I’m turning 26 in the next two weeks, I still feel the same excitement when I think about Christmas. I get all happy and hyper when it comes to decorating and present opening. Granted Santa Claus isn’t “real,” but there are so many ways that you can let out your inner child during this time of year (or any holiday for that matter).

read more »