Archive for June 10th, 2011

June 10, 2011

Agua de Piña to beat the summer heat

Summer heat is already on full blast in many cities across the nation, and we all know that there’s nothing like a cool drink on a hot summer day. To beat this heat, try this recipe for Agua de Piña, from Latina.com.

DESCRIPTION:

In Mexico, fresh fruit drinks are typical street food. If you’ve never had pineapple juice made from a fresh pineapple, you’re in for a treat. (Note that the amount of sugar you need, and the yield, may vary with the size of the pineapple and its sweetness.)

read more »

June 10, 2011

The gang disease

by Maitri Pamo

In my last article I offered some thoughts regarding the challenges that face Latino immigrant children as they navigate the intersections between their parent’s native culture and U.S. society. For many immigrant children, the difficulties associated with transition into a new culture can lead to life paths that are exactly the opposite from the hopes that immigrant parents carry with them when they make the brave journey here. One of the more dangerous and socially destabilizing choices that disenfranchised individuals can make is to join a gang

read more »

June 10, 2011

Getting to know the BL team!

Cindy Tovar is a staff writer for Being Latino.  She says, “I first heard about Being Latino from a friend of mine.  I checked it out and knew immediately that I wanted to be a part of it.”

Twenty random things you didn’t know about…

What did you want to be when you grow up?
I always wanted to be a writer, but I didn’t start taking my writing seriously until recently.  At some point, I wanted to be a vet, but then discovered I’m afraid to get bitten, so that was the end of that.  I also wanted to be an artist, but realized my brother got most of the talent in that area.

read more »

June 10, 2011

Bionic Bartolo

by Ryan Almodovar

I’m going to admit something that might downright enrage some of you (please hold your boos and angry emails ‘til the end) – I can’t stand the New York Yankees. Relax – I’m not a Red Sox fan, although I’ll own up to being a jealous Mets fan from Queens. I guess that would officially qualify me as a hater, but I don’t mind – still no Yankees fan, and I revel when they lose.

read more »

June 10, 2011

The status of students

by Cindy Tovar

All children, regardless of their legal status, are entitled to public education. Despite this federal law, school districts around the country are trying to make enrollment just a little bit harder for children who are undocumented. 

read more »