Archive for June 7th, 2011

June 7, 2011

Charge your iPod with your bikini and cool a beer with your swim trunks?

Summer: a time for fun in the sun. There’s nothing more relaxing than soaking up the sun’s rays while enjoying some tunes. Now, thanks to multimedia designer, Andrew Schneider and his creation, the Solar Bikini, you can lounge all day without having to recharge your iPod.

read more »

June 7, 2011

Mexico via documentary film

by Iemi Hernandez-Kim

Editing suites are filled with nothing but darkness and computer screens. It usually becomes extremely isolating and whenever I’m done working in one – I want to do nothing more but sit in the biggest patch of sunlight and not touch a single piece of technology. But I was in dire need of a job, so I agreed to stay a little longer in my dark room and wait for a fellow documentary filmmaker to talk about a job perspective.

read more »

June 7, 2011

The reality of obsessive compulsive disorder

by Miguel Muller

We all have them; a family member, maybe a co-worker, or even an acquaintance or friend who just doesn’t “seem right” in the ways they do things, or in what they say. We may see them as “annoying” and not normal.  Maybe all they have is an attitude problem. Maybe it’s more; maybe it’s mental illness.

read more »

June 7, 2011

Life is too long, eat worse

by Eric Jude Cortes

If you’re like me, part of you must feel sad that we Americans are living long. A lifespan of 78 years is too long a time to wait to meet the Creator. Like me, you must also feel loneliness at not having to visit your local emergency room enough. Finally, you must also feel left out of countless conversations that your friends seem to be having lately. A tear rolls down my eye every time a group chat turns to such maladies as hypertension and diabetes, and I have no personal experiences to contribute. Fear not, though, my able-bodied friends, under intense research, I’ve found some surefire ways to fix this. So I present you with:

read more »

June 7, 2011

A secret e-mail exchange between Coors and Dove Soap

by Ulises Silva

Here at Being Latino’s Perfectly Legal Albeit Clandestine E-mail Acquisitions Department (really, we have one), we’ve uncovered an e-mail exchange between Coors’ emboricuado advertising department and Dove Soap. And you’re not going to believe what we found! See for yourself!

read more »