Archive for October 4th, 2011

October 4, 2011

Mexicans migrate to Mexico?

The Daily Show does it again with a report on Mexicans and their migration from the U.S. to Mexico. It’s funny because it’s true.

read more »

October 4, 2011

Where’s your apathy?

by Nicolle Morales Kern

Apathy: lack of feeling or emotion : impassiveness / lack of interest or concern : indifference

Over the past few years, it has been said that Americans are apathetic, don’t pay attention to politics, don’t care about what happens in (or to) the rest of the world and are only concerned with their own lives and material possessions. This is a reflection of the nostalgia for activism of past decades, in which citizens fought loudly for women’s rights, civil rights and equality.

A clear source of reference of this apathy has been voter turnouts during past elections. When having to vote between what some would call “the lesser of two evils” in the majority of elections, many voters choose not to go to the polls.

read more »

October 4, 2011

The rise of the $5 dollar card fee

by Ryan Almodovar

File this one under ‘not surprising’.

Bank of America announced last week that it would begin to institute a five dollar monthly service fee for using their debit card to make purchases. Earlier this year I wrote about a few of the pending changes that banks were set to make, largely as a means of recouping profits that are being lost through the Dodd-Frank financial protection act. So yes, if you think you are getting dinged in fees now, it’s likely to get rougher in the future, as recent figures estimate that banks need to recoup 2 billion dollars, to stay on track, from last year.

read more »

October 4, 2011

BL Cooks: Pork Flautas & chicken in adobo

via MSNBC — Chef, mom, cookbook author and TV host Marcela Valladolid shares recipes to put together an authentic yet easy Mexican weeknight meal.

read more »

October 4, 2011

How Apple could screw up iPhone launch

– via MSNBC

“The narrative is set for Apple’s iPhone event Tuesday: Tim Cook, Apple’s new CEO, will attempt to fill Steve Jobs’ shoes by unveiling not one but two iPhones, a future-leaning iPhone 5 with slimmer body, larger screen and better everything, and a new $99 variant of the iPhone 4, made with cheaper parts. 

read more »

October 4, 2011

You might call me a coconut, but I’m really a piña colada.

by Maria Ortiz

If you saw me on the streets, you wouldn’t call me Latina. I have fair skin. I have light brown hair. I only have an accent when I order enchiladas or arroz con pollo. You would probably call me a coconut because, until I read Cristopher Rubio’s post, I had no idea what a coconut was. I just assumed I was an oatmeal cream pie, the Latino equivalent to the oreo.

read more »