Surviving verbal abuse

by Nancy Sepulveda

His fat sausage fingers jabbed at my face, emphasizing insults in between flecks of spittle. Fear and shame intermingled with a bubbling, rising sense of rebellion, and I had to stop myself from taking a snapping bite. To do so would have incited a barrage of belittling, and I was simply too exhausted. I was also seven years old.

I didn’t know my biological father, so I was thrilled when my mom married just after my 5th birthday. I’d finally have someone to call “dad,” to take me bike riding and camping and to do all the other fatherly activities I envisioned daddy’s girls did. Unfortunately, she married a monster who delighted in verbally abusing us.

Years of drunken rages and sober insults ensued, and rather than “precious” or “sweetheart,” my monikers were “retard” and “stupid.” I was repeatedly told I was unlovable and unwanted, hence my “real” father’s abandonment. Or he’d play cruel tricks, like announcing that we were going to Disneyland and seeing the excitement fade from my face when I realized no such trip awaited me. Like all children, I learned to adapt in order to survive. I could recognize the warning signs of a tirade: the rise in vocal volume, the excessive questioning about mundane subjects in order to find some misstep or mistake to seize upon. I learned to be quiet, go unnoticed, to disappear into a book-world of make-believe and safety.

In between the curses and whacks with the belt were periods of excessive affection and joy, when impromptu trips to the toy store or pizza parlor were interspersed with hugs and compliments on my good grades and “obvious intelligence.” Looking back, the man (himself the victim of childhood abuse) was clearly grappling with bi-polarism. My insides were constantly in a knot, unconsciously flinching as I awaited either a high-five or an open-handed smack.

After five years and two children, my mother finally had the strength to leave. But the effects of his abuse during my formative years lingered on. My self-esteem suffers still, and even completing a college degree and becoming a mother myself has not silenced the critic in me whispering, “You’re not smart enough, you’re not good enough, you’re unworthy.”  Therapy has helped, but it’s an ongoing battle to learn to love myself.

If you are being verbally abused, I implore you to seek help. Do not make excuses, do not shrug aside insults as “just his/her unique sense of humor” or “he/she doesn’t really mean it.” Men who are verbally abusive are at times overlooked as merely machistas (“Tio has always been gruff with Tia,”) but verbal abuse transcends cultural norms and affects all ethnicities and genders.  It’s an abuse often swept under the rug, seen as “not as bad” as physical or sexual abuse. But the beating to your self-esteem and sense of self-worth, the festering wounds of self-hatred, can leave a scar as surely as a split lip.

It’s time to start the healing.

Contributor, Nancy Sepulveda.

______________________________________________________________

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in this article are solely those
of the author and should not be understood to be shared by Being Latino, Inc.

______________________________________________________________

facebook twitter youtube images

______________________________________________________________

3 Comments to “Surviving verbal abuse”

  1. Nancy, you are fabulous writer! I completely relate with you and your experiences. Thank you for writing about this difficult topic and sharing with others in an effort to help them escape. You are awesome! Have a great day!

    • Thank you so much for your kind words, Cynthia. It’s a little scary to put something so personal out there, but I wanted people to know they’re not alone.

      Thank you for reading!

  2. It’s sad that ppl who are abusers are actually abused themselves. I suffered verbal and emotional abuse from my father and till this day we have no relationship. It affects me till this day when I second guess myself or cook or do anything and now that I’m a parent I would never do the same to my child and when someone does that it’s an excuse and a cop out. If you didn’t like how you felt when it was done to you why would you do it to someone else! People need to take responsibility and get help in order for the vicious cycle not to repeat itself and latinos aren’t always willing to go therapists, but asking for help and talking about it is not a sign of weakness it’s taking control of your own life and destiny.