Speak American!

by Cynthia Pleitez

As a bi-lingual Latina, speaking Spanish in America does not make me any less American than those who have the ill-fate of only being able to communicate  in English.

As a child I was never ashamed to speak Spanish. Spanish was a comfort zone and I was a magician dancing with words in one language and switching to another  effortlessly. As my native language, it took 21 years before I discovered that I had been incorrectly pronouncing the word pizza as “pixa” just as my parents always had.

But all good things come to end, and as I encountered more people outside of my own Spanish culture, I realized that not everyone was comfortable with me hablando Espanol.  It was in the workplace where I found the most animosity toward not “speaking American” which to the bigot means speaking  any other language other than English.

Time after time, helping Spanish-speaking customers resulted in burning glares from the next person in line. I felt so uncomfortable that I didn’t want to help customers in Spanish because I didn’t want to feel that discomfort and I didn’t want to get them mad.

Sometimes I gave Spanish speaking customers the respect they deserved but sometimes the discomfort was too much and so I rushed them and went on to give the glaring bigot my biggest smile and most American “Hi, how’s it going” that I could give.

Every customer had the opportunity to fill out an online survey, at a link found on their receipt, and leave comments which were then printed and posted in the break room for all to see. “Why do you guys have commercials in Spanish?” “ The day laborers in the parking lot cheapen your business,”  “This is America, Speak English!”

It angered me but I was no different than the others when I chose to not embrace mi cultura.

I began to question myself, and realized, that by denying the customer who didn’t speak English the verbal exchange in Spanish that they deserved, I was denying a part of myself. Being annoyed that they were asking me questions in Spanish, in front of (mostly white) glaring customers, meant that I was afraid of showing a part of myself to them.

Living in America, a country that has flourished from the multi-ethnic identities, languages, and races of its people, I have learned that when Latinos speak Spanish in America, we are being precisely American. I took a long look in the mirror, one that reflected all of my insecurities and I let go. I let go of my fear, my ignorance, and my inability to accept myself for who I was; Latina, Spanish-Speaking, and proud.

To learn more about Cynthia, visit her Facebook page.

______________________________________________________________

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in this article are solely those of
the author and should not be understood to be shared by Being Latino, Inc.

______________________________________________________________

facebook twitter youtube images

______________________________________________________________

8 Comments to “Speak American!”

  1. I’m waiting for Spanish to become the official second-language of this country. I wasn’t always this way due to my Spanish not being “perfect,” but now seek opportunities to speak it. I also smile at anybody who has the nerve to cast a negative look my way. It’s a great feeling. ; )

  2. @Ezzy, well said! mujer “wasn’t always this way due to my Spanish not being “perfect,” but now seek opportunities to speak it.”

    Spanglish is beautiful.

  3. i translated all my life for my dear papi, he didn’t feel the need to learn english, he had me & my mom.

  4. Look I love speaking Spanish with family and friends but some of the comments here are disturbing and provide fuel to the xenophobes that Latinos are refusing to assimilate.

    1. @ Ezzy; Spanish should NOT become the official second of the US as that would set precedent to accommodate the language of all new large immigrant groups. Where does it end? Do we just keep accommodating until the US has 20 official languages? If individual states wish to recognize other languages that is fine, but a second national language would be a headache. With our massive size and global power we need a uniting language. Before any of you comment about Europe just know that even the major European powers also only have one official language but allow for states/regions to have recognize other languages, basically what I wrote above.

    2. @ Nora: All immigrants should learn English. Would you be okay if say some from Ireland were to move to your parents home country and state that they would not learn Spanish because they didn’t they feel the need to? Its one thing to be unable to master a second language, but not bothering to learn the language of the country you raise your child in is not only rude but could have been dangerous in emergency situations.