J.P. McCaskey – A School Divided

by Ryan Almodovar

Those who have read my articles may have noticed that I am pretty attached to my city, Lancaster, PA – the only city that has total coverage by cameras on every corner and an Amish market that sells empanadas (Pot pie and arroz con gandules is an amazing combo – just trust me). Not surprisingly, this hometown boy also happens to be pretty attached to his alma mater – J.P. McCaskey High School. What sets my old school apart, besides the fact that I once graced their hallways, is the fact that it is the most diverse school in the area – all races, religions, and all kinds of people learn and grow here. This diversity is one of the best things this school has going for it, and the lessons I learned as a result have been invaluable in my life. So you can imagine my surprise when I came across this article a few days ago.

Seriously? Segregated? Read the article, but in a nutshell, they’ve started creating homerooms that divide students into groups by race and gender, as a means of empowerment and ultimately to improve the ever important ‘test scores.’ Now, I will admit that despite the happy memories I’ll spin about this place, McCaskey is one of those schools that is always under threat of being shut down by the state due to poor academic performance, but you could say the same of any number of inner-city public schools – especially ones with high populations of Latinos and African-American students. I realize test scores are important, but segregating students as part of the solution?

I tried to reason with the idea, I really did, so I felt as if I had to break this down. A school who is subjected to a test—let’s ignore race/gender for a second, and the amount of financial support that school gets is based on test performance. If the school does poorly, you have to find a way to get your students up to par. Let’s assume you have the statistics available to you, and you identify a population that maybe has performed less favorably in some areas. You support that group, and give them the tools and motivation to succeed, so they can do better next year. All else being equal, this idea makes sense.

As well intentioned as this is, you can’t segregate like this. Yes, it is a good idea to give kids role models, and there is evidence showing having a role model of the same race can be beneficial, but you cannot make it mandatory. I’m thoroughly disappointed with my school, and it’s a shame to see the values and qualities that make this place great kicked to the side to satisfy a requirement for a broken system. I will bleed McCaskey Red and Black until I die, but as long as this ‘experiment’ is allowed to continue, whatever benefit that will be gained will be far outweighed by the damage done to your students.

______________________________________________________________

Contributor, Ryan Almodovar

______________________________________________________________

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in this article are solely those of the author and should not be understood to be shared by Being Latino, Inc.

______________________________________________________________

facebook twitter youtube images

______________________________________________________________

7 Comments to “J.P. McCaskey – A School Divided”

  1. Great article, Ryan. While for some classes (i.e. health) I can see the need to separate by gender, but never by ethnicity. My school separated students by ability for English/lit and math classes and I felt that was effective; I was placed in an English class that didn’t challenge me and it was hugely frustrating for me and at times for the rest of the class, so for that reason I do get the need to separate by performance level at times. However, performance segregation never looked like ethnic segregation. That would likely have changed the entire game.

    Are you in contact with students or administrators at your alma mater now? Have they shared any opinions or insider insights with you? Very interesting read- keep it up!

  2. Wow, that is just nuts. Funny thing is how is that going to work. Look at schools where I am from Santa Ana CA. where it is almost all Latino 90% and they perform so poorly like lowest in the state. That just blows me away, besides how do you decide to place an interracial kid. My son is half Mexican half Anglo but for educational purposes I told him he is Asian. I know I’m nuts to but not nuts enough to segregate by race cause that’s against the law.

    Interestingly enough where I live in Syracuse they are going to go the gender route and see how that works. They had an article in the local paper how certain schools under perform and they get special money for new a program it works so then the district pulls the money because they are no longer under performing and they stop the special programs because they are not needed because they met the standards and have to go back to whatever traditional program the district requires and then they becoming under performing again. It’s a really poorly planed out cycle that just harms the students in the long run. Seriously our school system needs a giant overhaul maybe all these administrators need to be retrained. Okay that is the longest comment I’ve ever posted.

  3. Excellent article and well written at that. Empowerment is the right word to describe this pilot. Unfortunately our local board erroneously believe because locally folks haven’t spoken against this (which is typical for Lancaster City) that no one has an issue or concerned about. It couldn’t be further from the truth. This is an extremely touchy subject (race) and because it involves one group, no one wants to be called a racists against African-American and prefer to stay shut. I can only hope that those opposing this will come out and speak.

  4. Wow, I’m seriously amazed, I can’t believe that this is even being proposed. I can just see it now, test scores being blamed for the race and gender of the students in each room.
    Have there been any further comments from the school? How are parents reacting? What do the students think?

    • Students were not for it initially but were convinced. They didn’t like being separated from their peers and appeared to have the same reservations many folks share but it’s hard to say how the majority feel. We aren’t not certain if parents were involved in this decisions. Based on some of the school folks it they may have left them out of the initial conversation. There’s a pending article on the subject (2/3/11). In addition to a public forum to be held 2/7/11.

  5. After reading the article and watching the video, I have to agree that the idea might be well-intentioned and I’m all for the same-sex mentoring, but there is absolutely no need for the segregation by gender and race. I feel that’s taking it way too far and as one FB comment was highlighted is depriving the students of learning to work with others.

  6. i must say you are crazy bcuz i go to McCaskey and this school sucks balls everybody wants to drop out of this school so please don try to make people believe that this is a good school, bcuz is not!!